"could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
brightcaster
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by brightcaster »

The Kryoflux hardware should come up as USB device "Atmel Corp. at91sam SAMBA bootloader". DTC changes that after the firmware gets loaded to "www.softpress.org KryoFlux DiskSystem" and the LEDs start flashing.

If you get something different a wrong driver gets loaded!

Is there any kind of atmel development kit (AVR, ATmega, Arduino etc.) installed which is causing the wrong driver to be loaded?

David
JohnJAkron
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:42 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by JohnJAkron »

Thanks very much for the reply.

I checked just now - when the kryoflux is plugged into the mac, it is recognized on the USB tree as "communication device ...vendor ID 0x03eb (Amtel corporation)"

I searched for amtel on the mac and didnt find anything, however there is a bluetooth app called "AVRCPagent.app"

Could this be causing an issue in regards to proper driver loading? Is there a way to quality control for all of this?

Thanks again, very appreciated.
brightcaster
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by brightcaster »

To be honest I have no further idea at the moment. I think that there is a KEXT (KErnel EXtension) on your machine which gets mistakingly connected to the kryoflux board as soon as you plug it in, and therefor preventing DTC to load the firmware.

Do you have a Windows VM installed on that machine? Than it should be possible to load the firmware while the USB-port is connected to the VM via windows. After releasing the USB-port from the VM it should show up as "Kryoflux" to MacOS and should be recognized correctly (this should not be misunderstood as a workaround but as a test).

BTW: What's the version of DTC and the KryoFlux GUI you use? (Should be shown on the information window if you start the GUI). I think you have to use DTC v.2.62 to get it running with MacOS 10.7, but that will not affect the underlying driver problem I guess...

David
JohnJAkron
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:42 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by JohnJAkron »

Thanks very much for the response. I have approximately 20 KEXTs on the machine. I don't have a windows VM.

I guess the question is - should I delete some of the KEXTs / drivers or install a windows VM as discussed above? What would be easier/safer ? (I only use this mac for archiving) And what Window VM?

I have GUI and DTC v2.62 installed

Thanks again, very appreciated.
wholder
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:14 am

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by wholder »

I am having the same problem. To try and narrow things down, I set up a MacBook Air (mid 2011 model) by wiping the disk and then doing a clean install of macOs 10.10.5 (Yosemite). I then ran the KryoFlux.mpkg installer from kryoflux_2.62, which is listed here (https://www.kryoflux.com/?page=download) as being compatible with macOs 10.10. Finally, I installed Java version 8, update 291. To confirm this, here are some screen shots:
Screen Shot 2021-03-28 at 2.53.45 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-03-27 at 3.53.31 PM.png
I then tried to run the kryoflux-ui.jar and perform the calibration step, but got this result:
Screen Shot 2021-03-27 at 3.43.21 PM.png
As suggested in this thread, I also tried running dtc -c2, but got this result:

Code: Select all

DarwinUSBComm::Init could not open device error e00002c5
System    38, subsystem    0,  code  2c5
Note; during all my testing, only the RED LED illuminated. I did not see any other LEDs flashing.

I also measured the voltages going to the floppy drive from the supplied power supply and confirmed that 12 volts and 5 volts are present. I also swapped in another USB cable and tried both USB ports on the MacBook Air. I also tried pushing the RESET button on the board while the kryoflux-ui.jar was running and then retried the calibration step, but got no result.

Prior to this I also tried using the board with Windows 10 running in emulation on Parallels 16, but was unable to get the driver to install. I don't own a Windows PC and currently have access to one. I also looked into installing Windows 10 on the MacBook Air using bootcamp, but bootcamp is not supported for my mid 2011 MacBook Air.

I'm starting to wonder if there is a problem with the board... Are there ay other tests I can run to verify that the board is functional?

Wayne
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2197
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by mr.vince »

If the board is good, attaching it in e.g. Windows will cause a "bing" and a SAMBA device or similar will show up. The Mac will also show something as a connected device in "About this Mac / System Report / USB".

To search for the issue the GUI is not helpful. It's just a GUI, using the underlying DTC. From the log snippet you've posted, it looks like something else is hogging the device. We've had e.g. DVB-T drivers blocking the device. Are there any unusual kernel extensions installed ("System drive / Library / Extensions)")?
wholder
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:14 am

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by wholder »

>The Mac will also show something as a connected device in "About this Mac / System Report / USB".

Screen Shot 2021-04-01 at 5.55.04 PM.png

> Are there any unusual kernel extensions installed

No, as mentioned before, I wiped the SSD and did a clean install of macOs El Capitan and then installed Java 8 before running your KryoFlux.mpkg installer. Nothing else was installed.

Wayne
wholder
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:14 am

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by wholder »

Hey, guys! Can you throw me some kind of lifeline here? Short of buying a PC, I've tried everything that's been suggested and that I can think of to get the board to respond, including connecting the erase jumper and going through a 10-20 second power up, then power down and remove jumper, then power up again cycle.

Since it does show up in "About this Mac / System Report / USB" I assume it is responding in some fashion and is, therefore, not completely dead. And, having done a clean install of macOs 10.10.5, I think I've ruled out interference from other, 3rd party software claiming the device. Is there a command I can give that might provide a more verbose kind of error report? I do own a USB bus analyzer, so I could resort to that but, lacking any in-depth knowledge of how your device should respond, I'm not sure that would tell me much. However, if someone there can tell me what to expect to see on the bus, I can give that a try.

Wayne
brightcaster
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by brightcaster »

I'm not that familiar with MacOS but this should help to find which driver is loaded:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/381 ... -on-darwin

David
Alexco
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by Alexco »

Hi Wayne,

most likely some standard OS X Extension is blocking access to the device. Can you go to the Terminal and enter

Code: Select all

kextstat
and provide the output?

and also

Code: Select all

ioreg -c IOUSBDevice
and provide the output (long)?

Thanks,
Alexander
Post Reply