Linux users: What distro are you using?

3rd Party Software, Tools & Add-ons for KryoFlux
User avatar
Malvineous
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:57 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by Malvineous » Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:54 am

Hi all,

When the next Linux update for DTC comes out, I'm thinking about releasing some packages for a handful of Linux distributions as well as the usual binary. I'm just wondering what distributions people are using, so I know which ones are in demand. If you use your KryoFlux with Linux, could you please post the name of your distribution, the version (if applicable) and the architecture (i.e. whether it's 32 or 64 bit - use "uname -m" if you're unsure.) If a particular distro shows up frequently enough, I'll do my best to include packages for it.

I'll start:

Arch Linux, x86_64
Debian, Squeeze, i686

Rixa
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:09 pm

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by Rixa » Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:08 pm

Not a majority choice for sure, but I'm using CentOS6.
It's a RHEL6 clone, just like Scientific Linux 6 and Oracle Linux 6, so the same packages should handle all of those and probably Fedora.

Edit: Forgot to say x86_64.

Tor
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:08 pm

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by Tor » Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:27 pm

I use two systems:

Debian SID 64-bit (x86_64)
Debian SID 32-bit (i686)

-Tor
Hostinfo: Debian SID x86_64 and i686

isdxman
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by isdxman » Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:53 pm

Hi Malvineous,

My distribution is Linux Xubuntu 12.04 (hopefully soon to be 12.10) and the architecture i686 32-bit.

Best regards,

isdxman.

ewhac
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco Peninsula
Contact:

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by ewhac » Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:23 am

Debian 32-bit 'unstable'. Right now 'unstable' maps to 'sid', but I keep it more or less at unstable, whatever that maps to at any given time.

If/when I update my hardware, I'll probably graduate to Debian 64-bit 'unstable'.

Tor
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:08 pm

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by Tor » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:14 pm

@ewhac:
Debian unstable always has and always will map to 'sid', unlike the stable version which will update to a new name as versions change. I've been on Debian SID back since potato (or was it tomato) was stable.

-Tor
Hostinfo: Debian SID x86_64 and i686

Harry
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:31 pm

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by Harry » Sun Aug 26, 2012 2:11 am

Im using SuSE 11.4 and 12.1, but i will stick to the usual binary.

keir
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 11:03 pm

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by keir » Sun Sep 02, 2012 9:17 am

Fedora latest (x86_64)

User avatar
robcfg
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:55 pm

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by robcfg » Sat Nov 24, 2012 7:52 pm

I use Linux Mint 9 onwards.

silverdr
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:26 am

Re: Linux users: What distro are you using?

Post by silverdr » Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:09 am

Debian for servers, Ubuntu (originally Debian derivative) for desktop.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest