My Kryoflux box

Show us your setup and show us where the units are being used.
Post Reply
Rixa
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:09 pm

My Kryoflux box

Post by Rixa » Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:50 am

This turned out pretty nice, in my own opinion.

I used mostly parts scavenged from junk, though did buy the thumb screws for the drives as well as the USB extension cable. The board is currently mounted in a rather low-tech manner using duct tape on a piece of cardboard and two fasteners. I might think of something better later, but it seems fairly sturdy. The placement and orientation is so I can reach the reset button, though of course I need to open the two thumb screws at the back and open the case first.

Since the drives don't really need cooling and the power source isn't getting hot, I replaced the noisy fan with a weaker one. It's mostly just sucking in dust so I might disconnect it altogether (I put connectors in the cable for ease), but it's also giving the best indication when the drives are powered, as the power LED in front is on as long as the Kryoflux firmware is loaded.

The RCA connectors and the SCSI ID selectors at the back of the case are leftovers and don't do anything :lol: The backplates are cut from similar-colored pieces of old computer casings.
Attachments
box1.jpg
box1.jpg (93.63 KiB) Viewed 4426 times
box2.jpg
box2.jpg (113.79 KiB) Viewed 4426 times
box3.jpg
box3.jpg (62.18 KiB) Viewed 4426 times

User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 1872
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by mr.vince » Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:01 pm

Very neat!

pvh
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by pvh » Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:23 pm

That looks very nice. I have been searching the internet for several days trying to find a 2-bay 5.25" SCSI enclosure like yours. Either it is out of stock or very expensive. Where did you get that enclosure?

Rixa
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:09 pm

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by Rixa » Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:53 am

I'm afraid theres no supply of these, it's just old junk from where I work. I removed the hard disks that used to be on that thing for proper disposal a couple of years ago, but the enclosure seemed potentially useful so I saved it from trash.

cdawe
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:43 am

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by cdawe » Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:35 am

Question:

I've got the same enclosure (off eVILbay, actually). Did you have to modify anything on the 3.5 drive in order to get the kryoflux to talk to it OK, and write correctly ... like by cutting pin 33 or? (And if so can you show me by way of a pic of the back of the 3.5 inch drive, which one is cut?)

Also, wouldn't have a manual for that enclosure that you could scan would ya? Never got one from the seller, and I'd like to be able to hook up the LED's at the front of the case to work when I have the 3.5 inch and 5.25 inch drive plugged in?

Curt

User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 1872
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by mr.vince » Sat Jul 20, 2013 11:08 am

The drives have their own LEDs and don't support external ones by design.

Unless you add a modified 5.25" drive with bypass circuit you do not need to cut pin 33.

sncboom2k
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 5:33 am

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by sncboom2k » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:26 pm

Nice looking case - I see those a lot on ebay. Perfect for putting the KF board inside - nice and tidy. Good job!

Rixa
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:09 pm

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by Rixa » Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:46 pm

A bit late with a reply but yes, I did modify the data cable by cutting one of the lines.
I cut it inside the far end connector where it doesn't show, and the 3.5" drive can be connected while using a flippy mod.
From memory I'm pretty sure that it was the second last line counting from the marked one, but a verification should be easy to find on the forum.

EDIT: And no, I have no manual.

Magisthan
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:29 pm

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by Magisthan » Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:19 pm

Is there anything I have to be watching narrowly when I set up such a system with a 5.25 and a 3.5 drive in a SCSI case? Any changes to made on the drives or the Kryoflux?

Thanks.

User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 1872
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: My Kryoflux box

Post by mr.vince » Sat Feb 15, 2014 8:11 am

No, should all fit easily...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest