Page 1 of 1

using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:17 pm
by hyperactive
Hi.
I have a few commodore 64 KryoFlux streams that people have sent me and I would like to convert them to .g64 using the gui. Can I do this without having to install the driver?
Thanks.

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:04 am
by mr.vince
It's very straightforward writing a batch file and using the command line for this.

But should work selecting stream as drive and setting output to CBM GCR image.

No driver required.

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 9:19 am
by karadoc
That's right, select "Stream Files" from the drive menu, and when you press "Start" you will be prompted for your stream file directory.

I have tried this without the driver being installed, and it does work, but only after I put winusb.dll in the same directory (which I had to take from a system with the driver installed). That was on XP.

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 6:16 pm
by hyperactive
Yes, The problem is that I need to somehow get a hold of the file winusb.dll. Any ways I can do this without installing it? I can't install the driver because I haven't got the KryoFlux device yet.

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:39 pm
by karadoc
Okay, here are ones extracted from a Windows 7 box. The winusb.dll was in windows/system32 and the winusb64.dll (named as winusb.dll too) was in the wow64 folder. Try sticking them in the same folder as the kryoflux-ui.jar and DTC.exe files. I am not sure if they will work for you or not, but worth a try.

http://kryoflux.com/download/winusb.dll
http://kryoflux.com/download/winusb64.dll

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 1:29 am
by hyperactive
I get this error whenever I try to use dtc.exe
DTC.exe - Bad Image
The application or DLL C:\kf\dtc\WINUSB.DLL is not a valid Windows image. Please check this against your installation
diskette.
I am using windows xp sp3.

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 7:05 am
by mr.vince
The file should be in your Windows installation folder, e.g. "i386". Just take the genuine one...

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 7:26 am
by hyperactive
thanks mate, it's working now.

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:27 pm
by IFW
Please note, for most games you should use the -k2 option. Not sure what is the correct way of doing that from the GUI.

Re: using kryoflux gui without driver installed

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:18 pm
by karadoc
In the GUI, you need to change the track distance to 40 in the image profile settings screen.