Page 1 of 1

GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:33 pm
by Grizzly
Hi,

I cannot use the new Kryoflux GUI because there seems to be an error with drive communication. I've got a TEAC FD-235HF (year: 2008) that stands on the list of supported drives but Kryoflux cannot calibrate the drive. The output from console is:

Code: Select all

G:\kryoflux_2.0b11r2_windows\dtc>dtc -c2 -l15


v1.4 Nov 10 2004 14:49:33

000003ab: status=0
000003bf: status=0
000003d3: reset=0
000003e7: info=1, name=KryoFlux DiskSystem, version=2.10n, date=Mar 23 2012, tim
e=00:46:25
000003fb: info=2, hwid=1, hwrv=1, sck=24027428.5714285, ick=3003428.5714285625,
wb=32768, wa=64, wq=8, wt=65535
00000423: device=0
00000885: density=0
00000899: min_track=0
000008ad: max_track=83
000008c1: motor=1
00000c42: side=1
00000c57: track=0
00000c6b: motor=1
00000c7f: side=1
00000c93: track=0
00000ca7: motor=1
00000cbb: side=1
00000ccf: track=39
00000dc5: motor=1
00000dd9: side=1
00000ded: track=65535
00000ec2: motor=1
00000ed6: side=1
00000eea: track=0
Control command rejected by the device
CM: maxtrack=0
00000f6a: motor=0

G:\kryoflux_2.0b11r2_windows\dtc>
Calibrating with the GUI tells me that I can read up to 0 tracks with the drive. When I then try to read a PC-DOS disk, it stops after reading the first two tracks (see attached picture). Using the console command "dtc -i0 -fimagename.img -z2 -i4" works even without calibration and gives me a disk image, but I really would like to be able to use the GUI.

Is there anything wrong with my connections? I connected the PC's USB slot with the Kryoflux, the Kryoflux with the 3.5'' disk drive and the disk drive with the power supply unit - and this one with the power strip. The disk select jumpers are both in the middle (1 drive setup), no other moveable pieces are plugged in anywhere. I've got one of the first load of Kryofluxes (November 2010).

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 11:43 pm
by karadoc
The user interface tries to protect drives by not imaging past the track that DTC think it is capable of seeking to in calibration. Unfortunately, in your case what seems to have happened is, because the calibration failed, the user interface got the message "the drive is capable of dumping up to track zero".

So, we need to override your calibration setting. What you need to do, if open regedit, and go to the key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/JavaSoft/Prefs/com/kryoflux/ui/iface

Then change the value for the name "calibration.max-track_0" (max track for your "0" drive). The value probably 0 for you (note: value, not the name), so change it to 81. Then try again.

If you need more help with the above, or it doesn't work, let us know.

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:55 am
by mr.vince
Looking at the log... you are using the normal firmware. Depending on the drive, you might want to use the slow one. To give it a try:

In the same folder as the GUI, you will find DTC.exe and firmware.bin. Just delete the firmware and replace it with the one from the original archive in the folder "slow".

Make sure to reset the board if you have used it before as otherwise it will still use the firmware loaded into ram.

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:14 am
by IFW
Yes, this result is typical for drives that can only be run via the slow firmware.

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:57 am
by karadoc
A new version of the GUI has been released that allows you to override the "max track" calibration result, rather than having to dig into the registry or other OS-specific mechanism to change it.

See the following links for more details:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=262&p=4092#p4090
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=205&start=10#p4100

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:48 am
by Grizzly
Sorry for the late answer: I just erased the old firmware by putting the firmware erase jumper in place and switched the firmware.bin files in the dtc folder to the slow version. Now it works perfectly. Both, the dtc.exe and the GUI, recognize the correct max track (81) and it's possible to dump with using the GUI. :D

Thank you for your help. :)

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:00 am
by IFW
er... that's great, but the actual firmware is being uploaded on first use after power up, so not sure what jumper you changed :)

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:06 am
by mr.vince
It's the emergency jumper one can use should we ever need to flash firmwares.

Until then, just reset the board an it is naked again. ;)

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:21 pm
by Grizzly
After reading description (9) of the manual again: Yes, setting the jumper was indeed useless as the firmware is transmitted on each powerup. But well, it didn't hurt and took only a few additional seconds, so I am not angry about using it :P

I think I misinterpreted the sentence "Make sure to reset the board if you have used it before as otherwise it will still use the firmware loaded into ram". Because I already unplugged the device during the wait for an answer after my initial post and took it as given that I would repower the Kryoflux before the next use, I somehow thought that I would need to do another thing besides the file switching.

Re: GUI not usable, problems with drive communication

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:46 am
by IFW
No, not really :)
The onboard firmware is just a bootloader that downloads your current firmware on first use from the host pc.