Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
Post Reply
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2120
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by mr.vince » Mon Nov 15, 2010 1:48 pm

Have you actually tried dumping? Logging -l15? What does it say?

Can you make a raw (stream) dump?

User avatar
Malvineous
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:57 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by Malvineous » Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:49 pm

This is what -i4 -l15 shows on the 3.5" Panasonic: (which does work with -c2)

Code: Select all

0000c095: status=0
0000c0a9: status=0
0000c0bd: reset=0
0000c49f: descriptor=KryoFlux DiskSystem/version=1.00/date=Nov  9 2010/time=20:1
7:35
0000c4b3: device=0
0000c4c7: density=0
0000c4db: min_track=0
0000c4ef: max_track=83
KryoFlux DiskTool Console, v1.00 beta 8, uiv.1, Nov 12 2010
(c) 2009-2010 Istvan Fabian and KryoFlux Products & Services Ltd.
Developed by The Software Preservation Society, www.softpres.org
Licensed for private, non-commercial use only.

0000c52b: motor=1
0000c879: side=0
0000c88d: track=0
0000c8a1: stream=1
0000cb5f: stream=0
00.0    : Error reading stream device
0000cb87: motor=1
0000cb9b: side=0
0000cbaf: track=0
0000cbc3: stream=1
0000ce92: stream=0
00.0    : Error reading stream device
0000ceba: motor=1
0000cece: side=0
0000cee2: track=0
0000cef6: stream=1
0000d1b7: stream=0
00.0    : Error reading stream device
0000d1df: motor=1
0000d1f3: side=0
0000d207: track=0
0000d21b: stream=1
0000d41b: stream=0
00.0    : Error reading stream device
0000d443: motor=1
0000d457: side=0
0000d46b: track=0
0000d47f: stream=1
0000d680: stream=0
00.0    : Error reading stream device
00.0    : Read operation failed
0000d6a8: motor=1
0000d6bc: side=1
0000d6d0: track=0
0000d6e4: stream=1
0000d8ef: stream=0
00.1    : Error reading stream device
0000d917: motor=1
0000d92b: side=1
0000d93f: track=0
0000d953: stream=1
0000dc15: stream=0
00.1    : Error reading stream device
0000dc3d: motor=1
0000dc51: side=1
0000dc65: track=0
0000dc79: stream=1
0000de89: stream=0
00.1    : Error reading stream device
0000deb1: motor=1
0000dec5: side=1
0000ded9: track=0
0000deed: stream=1
0000e1ad: stream=0
00.1    : Error reading stream device
0000e1c1: motor=1
0000e1d5: side=1
0000e1e9: track=0
0000e1fd: stream=1
0000e415: stream=0
00.1    : Error reading stream device
00.1    : Read operation failed
0000e43d: motor=1
0000e451: side=0
0000e465: track=1
0000e49d: stream=1
...
If I am creating stream files correctly (-i0) then the files are all zero bytes. I know the KryoFlux is working as I tested it on a native WinXP install shortly after it arrived, however this is Windows 7 running inside VirtualBox with USB passthrough. I will also try with XP inside VirtualBox and report back.

User avatar
IFW
Posts: 3079
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:42 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by IFW » Tue Nov 16, 2010 12:03 am

This has nothing to do with the drive; the error message means that the USB communication is broken.

User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2120
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by mr.vince » Tue Nov 16, 2010 12:04 am

Malvineous wrote:

Code: Select all

00.1    : Error reading stream device
If I am creating stream files correctly (-i0) then the files are all zero bytes. I know the KryoFlux is working as I tested it on a native WinXP install shortly after it arrived, however this is Windows 7 running inside VirtualBox with USB passthrough. I will also try with XP inside VirtualBox and report back.
Oops. You are heaving trouble with transferring the data to your OS. This is not a drive problem. Data acquisition seems to be ok. It seems the data is not handed over fast enough from the host OS to the gues OS.

Please retry with a native OS...

User avatar
Malvineous
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:57 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by Malvineous » Tue Nov 16, 2010 12:07 pm

Drat, well I tried with XP inside VirtualBox with no change - can seek with -c2 but can't read anything with -c1. Now I really want Linux support because this means I can't use it at all at home (no native Windows installs) but I can only use it on one of the Windows PCs at work, which I promised Christian I wouldn't do because I only purchased it for private use :-)

I thought I read here someone else was using it through a VM - if so, what OSes (host+guest) and virtualisation software are you using? Maybe we need a new thread, "Operating systems confirmed working with KryoFlux"...

User avatar
IFW
Posts: 3079
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:42 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by IFW » Tue Nov 16, 2010 12:22 pm

er... please do feel free to use KryoFlux at work for your own personal use - just make sure you don't get caught by your boss ;)

User avatar
Malvineous
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:57 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by Malvineous » Sat Nov 20, 2010 3:06 am

Here's an update to your drive list - I can't test dumping from these drives until Linux support comes along, but they're already in your list of supported drives so this shouldn't be a problem. The list doesn't include track counts though, so here they are:

Sony MPF920-E: maxtrack=81
NEC FD1231T (1998): maxtrack=81

I have more drives but won't post the details until I can confirm they dump correctly too.

r09
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:34 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by r09 » Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:20 pm

You can add these to the list:

ALPS DF354H911C (3.5", 84 tracks)
Matsushita EME-150A (a.k.a. Amstrad FD-1) (3", 42 tracks)

User avatar
IFW
Posts: 3079
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:42 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by IFW » Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:09 pm

Just wondering, how do you know that the Amstrad drive really works up to 42 tracks, since the calibration function is not supported for 48 tpi drives - until I can finally get one...
Have you formatted a disk and dumped all tracks? :)

r09
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:34 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by r09 » Mon Nov 22, 2010 7:19 pm

Yeah, actually I've done a lot of experiments with it. :P The drive apparently accepts any track number, but the truth is that anything over 41 just overwrites the same physical track over and over because the head can't move any further.

Post Reply