Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2142
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by mr.vince »

esynthesist wrote: - Not OK: Chinon FZ-506, Rev A. This drive works fine in the same PC where the Teac is normally used, but it doesn't work with the Kryoflux (control commands rejected)

By the way: are jumper settings important ?
Hm, that Chinon-one works here.

You are referring to jumper settings of the drive, right? ;) These could be important.

The error you get... is this only happening with "-c2" command? Can you just try dumping a disk?
esynthesist
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:31 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by esynthesist »

Jumper settings are not so important, no.
...I meant the jumpers on the floppy drives, not the Kryoflux.
E.g. my Rev A Shinon drive does not work but your Reb F Shinon drive does work.
Maybe mine does too, but it has 13 jumpers. I tried the most obvious settings (like AT compatible) but maybe there's some pitfall.
esynthesist
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:31 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by esynthesist »

Our messages have been crossing each other :D
The error you get... is this only happening with "-c2" command? Can you just try dumping a disk?
With the -c2 but also with all the other ones.
The jumpers that were set are: TERM (jumper 1), DS0 (jumper 2), jumper 6, MS (jumper 10), DC (jumper 13).
I also tried other combinations, but the above ones correspond to what the manual indicates as 'AT' compatible, and indeed, they work fine on my AT computer.
Note that I have a rev A, not a rev F.
I'd like to use that drive with the Kryoflux, because the other one (Teac) fits (colour-wise) better with the hosting computer :)
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2142
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by mr.vince »

Will try and find the Chinon here and post the jumper settings.

These 5.25" drives really are divas. :)
Darkstar
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by Darkstar »

esynthesist wrote:Maybe mine does too, but it has 13 jumpers...

My disk drive has more jumpers than yours ;-)
http://insight.actapricot.org/insight/c ... 475-4f.htm

Seriously, I've really been wondering for years what all those jumpers are used for. I mean I know about the DS0..DS3 Jumpers (which were almost always obsolete because you had these fancy cables where the drive select signal was swapped halfway through), and TM probably means "Termination" (what? where?), but PH, NH, LH, MX, AX, GX, EX, ...? also, these plus-shaped 4way-jumpers are quite interesting, I only ever saw them on disk drives and nothing else. (UA/HA/DA/LA). My guess is that these drives could be adapted to lots of different controllers that need some signal lines to be swapped or moved around or something... But I'd really love to see a service manual for one of those drives

*Edit: There's a start: http://www.alphamicro.com/dss10/40200A03.pdf (for the records)
*Edit2: Ah, I found something: http://goyim.dyndns.org:8080/coco/doc/m ... ttings.pdf This might be worth saving ...
*Edit3: Wow. Didn't think of Bitsavers: http://bitsavers.org/pdf/panasonic/MSD8 ... ce_Man.pdf I'm happy now :-D

-Darkstar
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2142
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by mr.vince »

esynthesist wrote:Our messages have been crossing each other :D
The error you get... is this only happening with "-c2" command? Can you just try dumping a disk?
With the -c2 but also with all the other ones.
The jumpers that were set are: TERM (jumper 1), DS0 (jumper 2), jumper 6, MS (jumper 10), DC (jumper 13).
I also tried other combinations, but the above ones correspond to what the manual indicates as 'AT' compatible, and indeed, they work fine on my AT computer.
Note that I have a rev A, not a rev F.
I'd like to use that drive with the Kryoflux, because the other one (Teac) fits (colour-wise) better with the hosting computer :)
Can you please try some commands and activate full verbosity?

E.g. DTC -i4 -l15

Please post here. Thanks.
esynthesist
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:31 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by esynthesist »

My disk drive has more jumpers than yours
You win :D
Can you please try some commands and activate full verbosity?

E.g. DTC -i4 -l15

Please post here.
Sure. Here are the results of the above command on my Chinon FZ-506 with jumpers 1, 2, 6, 10 and 13 set:

Code: Select all

00037d96: status=0
00037daa: status=0
00037dbe: reset=0
00038200: descriptor=C2 DiskSystem/version=1.00/date=Oct 12 2010/time=20:06:17
00038214: device=0
00038228: density=0
0003823c: min_track=0
00038250: max_track=83
KryoFlux DiskTool Console, v1.00 beta 7, uiv.1, Oct 12 2010
(c) 2009-2010 Istvan Fabian, Softpres, www.softpres.org
Licensed for private, non-commercial use only.

00038264: motor=1
00038575: side=0
00038589: track=65535
00.0    : Control command rejected by the device
000386d8: motor=1
000386ec: side=0
00038700: track=65535
00.0    : Control command rejected by the device
0003884f: motor=1
00038863: side=0
00038877: track=65535
00.0    : Control command rejected by the device
00.0    : Read operation failed

Enjoy your shiny new disk image!
Please consider helping us to preserve media and continue development:
www.softpres.org/donate

000389c6: motor=0
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2142
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by mr.vince »

Hm. Any ligths or noise from the drive?

Jumper 1 is DS0, but drive must be set to DS1. Tested here. Placing my jumper from DS1 to DS0, the drive spins but commands are rejected. Setting it to DS0... all is fine. Please try.

It's working here with these settings:
chinon_fz_506.png
chinon_fz_506.png (211.69 KiB) Viewed 9348 times
esynthesist
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:31 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by esynthesist »

Hm. Any ligths or noise from the drive?
If there's a disk in the drive, the motor spins a little bit, that's about it.
No head movement.

I had tried both DS0 and DS1, and both TM on and off.
My drive has 13 jumpers, but yours seems to have only 9.
Could you send me the labels of all 9 jumpers on yours ?
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2142
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Drives confirmed working with KryoFlux

Post by mr.vince »

Ok, but no light? Would mean Motor works, but Select does not.

The jumpers from left to right. * where I have a jumper installed.

MS2
DC-RY*
MS1*
IU
DS3
DS2
DS1*
DS0
TM*

Guess the DC-RY thing selects ready signal, which is not used by KryoFlux, so can be ignored.
Post Reply