Writing Amiga IPF's

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
merlinkv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Writing Amiga IPF's

Post by merlinkv »

Hi again

Thanks to all for the fast answers.

But I think the problem is the media I used before. Looking in an old box I found some DD floppys in good condition.

I wrote some IPF's to test and everything is working fine at the moment.

So..... Just bought few minutes a go some NOS boxes of DD floppys.

More info when my new drives (Samsung, APL) & floppys arrives.

Thanks again to all and Best Regards
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2138
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Writing Amiga IPF's

Post by mr.vince »

So you did use HD floppies?
TeaRex
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:36 am

Re: Writing Amiga IPF's

Post by TeaRex »

mr.vince wrote:If we want to investigate this, we would need to hook the 1010 to KF and make a stream dump.

My best guess would be an alignment thing, which means you A500 fits both, but the 1010 and the PC drive are too much apart...
Hooking the 1010 to the KF might be possible but it would involve building an adapter, since the drive that's in it doesn't use a 34-pin interface. If misalignment of the 1010 is the culprit, then the PC drives should likewise be unable to read disks written by the 1010, right? I can check that tomorrow.
merlinkv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Writing Amiga IPF's

Post by merlinkv »

mr.vince wrote:So you did use HD floppies?
Hi,

Not all, first I try with some DD and some HD (with hole closed) I use in my day-by-day "work".

But going to be desperate I opened all my retro stuff boxes and I found some real DD floppys in near new condition.

Now "all" IPF's can be converted to floppys without probs.

I tought KryoFlux needs to write IPF's real DD floppys and in very good condition. Is not like my Cyclone, as I can use with it DD or HD (hole closed) without probs.

Thanks again to all & Best Regards
merlinkv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Writing Amiga IPF's

Post by merlinkv »

Hi again,

Just one more question.....

DTC have a parameter to verify if the IPF is recorded OK on the disk?

Thanks
TeaRex
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:36 am

Re: Writing Amiga IPF's

Post by TeaRex »

merlinkv wrote:DTC have a parameter to verify if the IPF is recorded OK on the disk?
Nope. At least not yet.
User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2138
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Writing Amiga IPF's

Post by mr.vince »

Not yet. Pre-format on target. If the media is good, write should be good, too.

Later version will re-read track and compare.
merlinkv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Writing Amiga IPF's

Post by merlinkv »

mr.vince wrote:Not yet. Pre-format on target. If the media is good, write should be good, too.

Later version will re-read track and compare.

Hi again,

OK preformating on target, then writing IPF's...

Waiting the new version with re-read & compare... This will be a great update.

Thanks for the info & Best Regards
Post Reply