CM: maxtrack=0

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
VEC

CM: maxtrack=0

Post by VEC »

Hello there !

This is my first try working with the Kyroflux. I want to read 3 1/2 and later on 5 1/4 Amiga Disks.
The first try with an 3 1/2 Mitsumi D359T5 Drive was not too successfully. The LED of the Drive was alway on, but there was not ticking. After the initialisation of the drive the message "CM: maxtrack=0" appeard and with the command "DTC -fdiskname.adf -i5" or "dtc -i5" there came just the following message: "The streaming device reported missing index - no disk in drive
Enjoy your shiny new disk image!".

I am using "KryoFlux DiskTool Console, v3.00_Win32, uiv.1, Apr 15 2018, 23:45:03"

Which Drives are the best for Amiga Disks for 3 1/2 and for 5 1/4 Formats ?

Thanks in advance for any help.
mr.vince

Re: CM: maxtrack=0

Post by mr.vince »

Please see the floppy drive thread, it's sticky. Missing index may be related to three things: drive, cable or board (the bus drivers don't like voltage spikes). The error says that the board can't read the index signal which is the main reference during ingestion.
brightcaster

Post by brightcaster »

Most Mitsumi drives are belt driven. So it could be a problem with the belt. Can you check that the disk is really spinning? The driving noise you may hear could be the motor spinning freely without moving the belt!

If you can't literally see the surface moving, you can always check the spindle on the back of the 3.5-inch floppy, which should be in a different position after each attempt!

You may find other hints to the subject over here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=20

David
VEC

Post by VEC »

Hello there.