5.25 floppies image profile

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
beppe

5.25 floppies image profile

Post by beppe »

hi everyone, I am new with the Kyroflux board and I am not expert about retrocomputers.
I am trying to read some 5.25 floppies. I don't know what kind of Image Profile should I choose. Could you help me please? Thanks a lot.
Giuseppe Ferrari from Venezia, Italy
brightcaster

Re: 5.25 floppies image profile

Post by brightcaster »

Nobody can tell that if you don't provide some information about the computer system they are made with! Just being 5.25 inch in size it could be everything from the profiles list...

David
beppe

Post by beppe »

hi David, thank you very much for your answer. Unfortunately I have no information about the computer system they are made with.. So I should perform many profiles and then test everyone?
thanks again
SomeGuy

Post by SomeGuy »

In this case, it would be a good bet to start with a Preservation Stream File. That just records all of the raw signal from the drive. You can feed it back to the Kryoflux software or other tools later to decode a usable disk image using one of the other profiles.

The nice thing about this is you don't have to keep the disk spinning and wearing out experimenting with the decoding profile.

There are still a few things you ideally should know about the disk before hand. Specifically, is this a high density or low density 5.25" disk? What TPI was the disk written with (48TPI, 96TPI, 100TPI, may not match the vendor's label)? Was this disk used as a "flippy" disk (common on Apple II and C64 systems)? The wrong setting on these means you might not get everything.

Another nice thing about preservation stream dumps is that if you really can't figure out how to set up a decoding profile for the disk content then you can post the stream dump for others to look at, and usually it will contain enough clues to get something going.