"could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
JohnJAkron
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:42 pm

"could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by JohnJAkron »

Hello,
I did a quick search but didnt find anything pertaining to my specific hardware/OS

I attempted a calibration via the kryoflux-ui.jar interface and was told "error: could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

the USB connection (no bus) appeared sound and the LED light was on on kryoflux.

Computer: 2007 mac mini. OS is MacOS 10.7. Disk drive was 3.5 inch Alps/Lenovo

thanks very much

ZrX
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by ZrX »

How do the LEDs on the KryoFlux look like?

When the board is connected the red LED should lit up.

On first use with the software the firmware is loaded and the yellow and green LEDs should light up and start flashing alternatively to indicate that the board is ready to use.

If only the red LED is on after the software has sent the first commands (fe. calibration), something failed with the firmware upload and pressing the small reset button on the KryoFlux usually solves it.

If resetting the board still doesn't help, you can try shorting the firmware erase jumper if due some weird events something has caused the onboard flash to become corrupted even tho it isn't actually used by the firmware.

Other than that I don't know about the Mac USB subsystem to know how to solve possible errors on the software side.

JohnJAkron
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:42 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by JohnJAkron »

Hello,

thanks very much for the assistance. I pressed the reset for the board but got the same "error" signal.
Also the mac mini emits a hum for about two seconds during the calibration attempt.

My firmware erase jumper appears to be in the "open" configuration but I can't tell for certain from the kryoflux photographs.

Any suggestions?

thanks again

ZrX
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by ZrX »

The erase jumper is normally kept in the open position. Only to be closed in a rare occassion that something might've corrupted the unused flash making the CPU try to start executing code from the flash.

And again, how do the LEDs on the board behave when you try to use it?

JohnJAkron
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:42 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by JohnJAkron »

Thanks very much for your assistance.

Only the red LED lights up. The others do not turn on at any time

thanks again

User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2130
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by mr.vince »

I suspect there's a problem with the underlying install of DTC.

What happens if you open a terminal and execute

DTC -c2

?

JohnJAkron
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:42 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by JohnJAkron »

Thanks very much for your help

When I opened the terminal and used that command I got

"DarwinUSBComm:: Init: could not open device error e000002c5 ... Device not found"

I havent seen this message before

thanks again, very appreciated.

JohnJAkron
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:42 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by JohnJAkron »

Hello, I write again in regards to my efforts to troubleshoot Kryoflux

I attempted a calibration via the kryoflux-ui.jar interface and was told "error: could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

the USB connection (no bus) appeared sound and but only the red LED light was on on kryoflux.

When I opened the terminal and used that command I got

"DarwinUSBComm:: Init: could not open device error e000002c5 ... Device not found"

Computer: 2007 mac mini. OS is MacOS 10.7. Disk drive was 3.5 inch Alps/Lenovo

Thanks again

brightcaster
Posts: 281
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by brightcaster »

Well, as it says: It can't find the kryoflux board! So what makes you sure that the usb connection is sound, when you get a message like this? Can you see the board in you system report?

What do you mean with "USB connection (no bus)" when USB is an abbreviation for UniversalSerialBus? Did you mix up with bus and hub at this point?

Please check the USB-cable! There are cables on the market used for cell-phones to be charged, which have no data wires at all!

David

JohnJAkron
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:42 pm

Re: "could not communicate with kryoflux hardware"

Post by JohnJAkron »

Thanks very much for the response, very appreciated.

The USB connection appears to be good, the system report on my mac recognizes the Kryoflux as a "Communications device" from the Atmel Corporation.

Any ideas to how to proceed? Thanks very much

Computer: 2007 mac mini. OS is MacOS 10.7. Disk drive was 3.5 inch Alps/Lenovo

Post Reply