POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
Dominus
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:32 am

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by Dominus » Sat May 25, 2019 1:04 pm

SomeGuy wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 2:54 pm
mr.vince wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 2:41 pm
I am not turning this into a politics discussion, but frankly again Apple needs to fix their backend.
Nothing political about it. If there is a genuine bug in their OS then they simply need to fix it. People just need to know to direct their energy and fustration at Apple for the best hope of resolving this issue. Anyone who wants their Kryoflux to work under MacOS again needs to get Apple on the phone.
Well, we'd need specifics to point Apple at. If we just go and say the Kryoflux doesn't work, we end up in a vicious circle: Apple: tell the Kryoflux guys to fix their stuff. KryofLux: tell Apple to fix their stuff!

SomeGuy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by SomeGuy » Sat May 25, 2019 5:57 pm

Which is why I asked if there was a specific bug report. With many projects the best/only way to get attention is to add constructive information to a bug report. I don't do Apple stuff so I don't know exactly how they handle it, but a bit of searching suggests they have a bug tracking system that requires a developer's account to access.

Of course, if anyone knows any other ways to poke Apple, please do chime in.

Why Apple won't fix it? They still REALLY hate floppy drives! :)

sarnau
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:03 pm

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by sarnau » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:29 pm

I can potentially help, please contact me privately with the concrete issue.

sky76
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by sky76 » Mon Oct 28, 2019 9:48 pm

I'd also be interested to get Kryoflux ready for macOS Mojave and future versions. At least it runs on my 7-year old MBP running macOS High Sierra, but time will pass and it may become increasingly difficult to not update...

I assume there is no easy workaround for the problem with Apple's USB stack? How do other manufacturers overcome these issues? Maybe someone other than Apple can help.
A1200 + Indivision AGA + ACA1233 & Blizzard 1230IV+SCSI + easynet
A600 + Indivision ECS + ACA620 + A604n // CD32 + SX32 MK2 + Indivision AGA
A500 + ACA500 + 5 spare A500's (one with the C= key, Serial No 3358)

robbo007
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:56 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by robbo007 » Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:04 pm

I think the main problem here is the devteam don't see us Mac users important enough or too few to fix the problem. This has been said in many posts. It's a shame because in the end we are all users on all platforms and in the end all we are doing is trying to preserve old software using paid for hardware (not cheap) purchased from them. Its basic support at the end of the day.

SomeGuy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by SomeGuy » Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:44 pm

robbo007 wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:04 pm
I think the main problem here is the devteam don't see us Mac users important enough or too few to fix the problem.
I think the main problem here is that APPLE doesn't see Mac users as important enough.

As I understand it, the problem is an OS bug that Apple refuses to fix, and the KF team would have to hack in some potentially unplesent workaround, if it would work at all.

I've sat by and watched too many applications go through Apple's compatibility blender over the years. Every version seems to remove or break stuff people relied on. And yet, I can run 86-DOS binaries from 1981 on Windows 10-32 bit.

sky76
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by sky76 » Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:54 pm

This is understandable from a developer's perspective but also makes me a bit sad. It is a relatively small community where just a few people could make a difference. At least one update "every xx years" would be greatly appreciated I guess. Without deeper knowledge of details it may be difficult to determine whether this is an OS bug. Nonetheless, the programmers have their choices to make and it sounds like some really hard to overcome issue. :(
A1200 + Indivision AGA + ACA1233 & Blizzard 1230IV+SCSI + easynet
A600 + Indivision ECS + ACA620 + A604n // CD32 + SX32 MK2 + Indivision AGA
A500 + ACA500 + 5 spare A500's (one with the C= key, Serial No 3358)

robbo007
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:56 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by robbo007 » Tue Oct 29, 2019 12:12 am

Respect to everyone no hard feelings please. Apple can be arses with compatibility but just fix it. Just do it. This ain’t no open source home bedroom project? Or is it?

@someguy I know where your coming from I have my house filled with ibm kit. Mostly retro but I have worked with pc stuff for over 20 years

sky76
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: POLL: Problems KryoFlux under MacOS

Post by sky76 » Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:08 am

You are definitely right robbo007. So let's go for it and fix it! It would be greatly appreciated. :)
A1200 + Indivision AGA + ACA1233 & Blizzard 1230IV+SCSI + easynet
A600 + Indivision ECS + ACA620 + A604n // CD32 + SX32 MK2 + Indivision AGA
A500 + ACA500 + 5 spare A500's (one with the C= key, Serial No 3358)

Post Reply