Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
Post Reply
CmdrArcturus
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:34 pm

Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

Post by CmdrArcturus »

Hello, I've had my Kryoflux board for a while but didn't get a chance to using it until recently. I've put together a dual-floppy system out of an old full-height SCSI box and modified it to mount the Kryoflux board in it along the rear wall of the chassis. I'm using a Teac FD-235HF,C429-U5 for the 3.5" drive and a Teac FD-55GFR-7149-U5 for the 5.25" drive. Both drives have been confirmed good and have been cleaned thoroughly. So far, I've tried to read several different floppies of both sizes, and I get the same output every time, regardless of what drives/disks/cables I use. The 3.5" disks are always read with "hidden" tracks, but most of the data seems to come out okay, but for the 5.25" disks, all sectors are coming up as "unkown", and the resulting output file is completely empty with a 0 byte count. I have attached the screenshots of the latest dumps. To further rectify the situation, I've tried downloading a fresh copy of the Kryoflux software from the website, erased the firmware on the board several times, and even reinstalled the Windows driver. Nothing seems to help. I realize I may have a defective board on my hands, but I wanted to check with the community if there was something I'm missing, and please note that I made sure that the board is not shorting out. It is properly mounted, and even if the board is loose out of the chassis, I still get the same results. If you need the logs, I can upload them in a separate post as they're long, and for some reason, the system is not allowing me to attach LOG/TXT/DOC files.

Thank you,

CmdrArcturus
ZrX
Posts: 618
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

Post by ZrX »

Can you post the commands you used?
SomeGuy
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

Post by SomeGuy »

Did you set the density line appropriately for the disk in the drive? That is very important for 5.25" media. Note that Kryoflux refers to the "High" and "Low" states of the Density Select logic line, and on IBM PC style 1.2mb floppy drives density is the REVERSE of the logic line. That is Density Select Low=High Density and Density Select High=Low Density.
CmdrArcturus
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:34 pm

Re: Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

Post by CmdrArcturus »

Okay, I'll try setting the density when I get home. As for the command I used, I just used the Java GUI and tried to dump MFM disks in both cases.
ZrX
Posts: 618
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

Post by ZrX »

Density change on floppies should only show as various amounts of error. Not as unformatted.

It's possible the rpm used for the format doesn't match.
BarryB
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:15 pm

Re: Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

Post by BarryB »

Out of curiosity, what format disks are you dumping, IBM, MAC, Atari?
CmdrArcturus
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:34 pm

Re: Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

Post by CmdrArcturus »

Thanks to all of you who replied. Sorry for the late reply; we got hit hard this week by that WannaCry thing.

Firstly, I'm just using the GUI (v2.51 for Windows) to dump both 1.44MB 3.5" disks and 1.2MB 5.25" disks, both formatted for MS-DOS (MFM sector image). I've tried the command line using the following:

dtc -d1 -dd0 -i4 -ftest.flp
dtc -d1 -dd1 -i4 -ftest.flp
dtc -d1 -dd0 -i4 -v300 -ftest.flp
dtc -d1 -dd1 -i4 -v300 -ftest.flp

Seems that no matter what I try, I get the same results for both types of disks regardless of format. Any other ideas?
BarryB
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:15 pm

Re: Kryoflux seemingly works only partially well

Post by BarryB »

To dump with command line:

1.44MB: dtc -p -fFOLDER/STREAM -i0 -i4 -l8
To convert to a .img file: dtc -m1 -fFOLDER/STREAM -i0 -fTEST.img -i4 -l8

1.2MB: dtc -p -fFOLDER/STREAM -i0 -v360 -i4 -l8
To convert to a .img file: dtc -m1 -fFOLDER/STREAM -i0 -fTEST.img -v360 -i4 -l8

You can add the -d1 and -dd0/-dd1 if needed.

There are examples in the PDF manual, and one that shows how to dump/create .img files at the same time but I've never used that method preferring to dump first then create files if needed manually!
Post Reply