360rpm or not

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
Kubi

360rpm or not

Post by Kubi » Sun Jan 17, 2016 1:04 pm

Hi Community,

I am very new to this.
I got a Casio FZ-10M derivate from Hohner and I tried to get this working again.
I've got a library of ~80 Disks with self-recorded material.
My trouble is, that the original Disk-Drive (Panasonic FD-235HF-A110) is not working properly and i want to replace this with a Disk-Emulator.
The FD-235HF is working with 360rpm. I have tried to replace the Disk-Drive with modified Drives like TAEC FD-235HF (360rpm mod) but this doenst work but I think this a Shugart Bus problem or the modifying of the drive is not really working.
So I connect the drives to the Kryoflux and start testing: dtc -ffilename.img -v360 -i4
The result is an image file with 1280kb. When I turn to the GUI version i can see different results. The original disks have always green tracks, some other Disks have orange tracks with a "H" (Hidden Data in the Header).
Some have a mix with grey (unformatted) or even red (bad tracks).
I have tried that with different drives and it seems that I get the best results with a unmodified Mitsumi D359T3 Disk Drive. I am not sure if this drive is working properly with 1,2 MB Disk without modifying.

But there is something that every constallation had in common: The DTC is always showing me 300rpm.
This is confusing me because I have seen screenshots with 360rpm.
I want to prevent that I going the wrong way. Maybe that doesn't matter but I am not sure. When I am testing with -v300 I got unknown tracks.

My questions are:

- does the 300/360 thing matter or not?
- does the orange colored tracks working?
- is a Disk with bad or unformatted sectors lost?

Best Regards,
Kubi

Feltzkrone

Re: 360rpm or not

Post by Feltzkrone » Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:13 pm

Hi Kubi,