Texas DS990/1 Dump

All questions about how to use KryoFlux go here.
pieroandreini
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:45 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by pieroandreini »

Thanks David, you are right. I discovered that DS990/1 use signals DIR and SIDE mixed together. As you said and described on Qume DT/8 manual, the signal SIDE may be use on different ways. I'm gonna try to change drive jumpers to factory setup

pieroandreini
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:45 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by pieroandreini »


ZrX
Posts: 618
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by ZrX »

Ok this time the header shows the head/side flag changing between sides on every track. But the bit order of that value is weird, as in the byte value is 0 for first head and 8 for the second head. All the other header values are in a typical order.

Also, in all the previous dumps the head value was 0 for both sides of the first track and showed another value for all the other tracks.

pieroandreini
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:45 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by pieroandreini »

@ZrX What could this strange bit order for the heads depend on?

brightcaster
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by brightcaster »

Nice to see this progress! Which tool did you use to convert from RAW to DSK?

Shouldn't the DSK file be much bigger if there are 2 sides, 77 tracks and 26 sectors with 288 bytes each? According to my calculation it should be about 1.2 MByte (including the overhead)!

David

pieroandreini
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:45 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by pieroandreini »

A really nice person made a tool for this, I ask him the permit to share it. I guess it's ok but for respect I will ask before to share his software
The firs version of the tool had some issue, that's why dimension is just Half.

Here the last dump, still some bad sector

https://www.dropbox.com/s/eq8n2r8pdgcl8 ... d.img?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/y0x1vi6zyuimi ... d.log?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7695818a0x8j1 ... d.zip?dl=0

May be really useful to add a profile with this sector encoding on the kryoflux software to dump Texas Instruments floppy disk

ZrX
Posts: 618
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by ZrX »

The tool is my experimental tool I use to manage and study odd disk formats.

The FD1000 MFM manual states "The head address is in bits 1 through 4 and the cylinder address is in bits 9 through 15. Bits 5 through 8 are always zero." Yet the graph shows HEAD to use bits 0 through 4. But it doesn't specify what order the bits on HEAD value should be.

So it could be they just used bit 3 for the upper head, or it could be any of the bits could be used for the upper head on the floppies.

pieroandreini
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:45 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by pieroandreini »

FD1000 don't have any cpu or rom, even the controller on DS990 is made just with ttl logic, no custom or whatever, so should be the operating system that manage this, right?
If this is correct this information should be found on operating systems technical manual I guess

brightcaster
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by brightcaster »

@pieroandreini:

Only a few floppy disk drives were equipped with their own CPU (mainly CBM). So, yes, it should be a question of the operating system, the kernel, or whatever it is called on that specific system ...

@ ZrX:

Ahh, I see it's your tool again. I wondered if anyone else had gone that far! I also haven't seen anything to read this strange sector size ...

David

pieroandreini
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:45 pm

Re: Texas DS990/1 Dump

Post by pieroandreini »

Thanks to everybody for the big support

Post Reply