Page 1 of 1

Trying to get second drive to work.

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 8:50 am
by edmaul69
So i have two 5.25” floppy drives connected to one board. No matter which drive i put the jumper d0 and d1 on the only drive that works is the one on cable connector 1. The only time a drive on cable connector 0 doesnt just tick and give me a “control command by the device” is if i have the d0/d1 matching to the drive connected on cable connector 1. Then they both just run at the same time but it only gives me the maxtrack readout of the drive on cable connector 1. The one difference i found between my cable and the one in the manual is my pins 25-29 (if pin 1 is red) are flipped and the one in the manual has pins 10-16 flipped. Do i need to changed the flipped wires on my cable to match the diagram or is there something else that is the issue? I do have the jumper pins on the kryoflux board set to the outside for dual drives.

Re: Trying to get second drive to work.

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:34 am
by edmaul69
I fixed my issue. I decided to flip the correct wires as shown on the cable in the manual and then had to set both jumper pins back to d1 on the drives. Now both drives work properly.

Re: Trying to get second drive to work.

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:13 pm
by IFW
Yes, that's needed.

If any of the drives is flippy modded please do not connect a second drive.

Re: Trying to get second drive to work.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 8:14 am
by edmaul69
Nope. Just a standard teac fd-55gfr and a teac fd-55br. I have them in seperate external old cd writer cases i modified to use and one has the kryoflux in it. I will be doing a 3.5” floppy drive external as well that can be attached as the second drive.

Re: Trying to get second drive to work.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 8:17 am
by edmaul69
How would i know if a drive has been flippy modded?

Re: Trying to get second drive to work.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 8:19 am
by edmaul69
IFW wrote:
Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:13 pm
Yes, that's needed.

If any of the drives is flippy modded please do not connect a second drive.
Just figured out how to reply. Can you read my last post?

Re: Trying to get second drive to work.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 2:57 pm
by mr.vince
If you don't know it very likely isn't also if two drives work on the bus, then it's definitely not the mod which can step to -8.