Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

All questions regarding the dumping of media go here.
Post Reply
evanevery
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 1:37 pm

Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by evanevery »

I'm having a bear of a time dumping several "Sublogic Scenery Disks" (7, 9, 11, and Japan)...

These appear to be DS/DD 5.25 inch diskettes and are trademarked from "1989". I have tried a variety of MFM (-i4) format options (DD, HD, 40 track, 80 track, 8 sectors/track, etc) but nothing seems to get a "happy" dump...

I get something like the following:

C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c U:\Kryoflux\DTC.exe -d1 -p -fV:\Archives\Floppies\DOS-Win\Disk263\Disk263_ -i0 -fV:\Archives\Floppies\DOS-Win\Disk263\Disk263.img -k2 -i4 -l8

KryoFlux DiskTool Console, v3.00_Win64, uiv.1, Apr 15 2018, 23:44:54
(c) 2009-2018 KryoFlux Products & Services Ltd.
Developed by The Software Preservation Society, www.softpres.org
Licensed for private, non-commercial use only.

00.0 : MFM: OK, trk: 000, sec: 8
00.1 : MFM: <mismatch>, *N
02.0 : MFM: <mismatch>, *N
02.1 : MFM: <mismatch>, *N
04.0 : MFM: <mismatch>, *N
04.1 : MFM: <mismatch>, *N

.
.
.

I obviously can get the raw files, and I suppose these could be heavily copy protected, but I'm curious if anyone has any suggestions on how to ensure I get a valid dump...
brightcaster
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by brightcaster »

The "* N" indicates that a sector has been ignored (usually because its size does not match the image you are trying to create). It could be copy protection, but also a proprietary format ...

Can you upload a stream file somewhere and post a link here for further review?

David
evanevery
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 1:37 pm

Re: Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by evanevery »

I have posted an archive of the raw files for 3 of those disks:

http://www.haute-solutions.com/download ... 0Disks.zip

I'm curious of what you can determine...
SomeGuy
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by SomeGuy »

At a glance, dumps look perfect. It is copy protected. The protection is a mix of sector sizes.

This can NOT be stored as an IMG file. It might be possible to reduce this to an ImageDisk format (which can store mixed sector sizes), but that would have to be tested to be sure. It should be possible to convert to a PCE emulator PSI file, for use in the PCE emulator.

Otherwise, it will have to remain a Kryoflux or other flux-level image.
evanevery
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 1:37 pm

Re: Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by evanevery »

Got it!

Thanks for looking at it for me!
dlfrsilver
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by dlfrsilver »

For me, the format is booter disk. You have an unprotected boot track, and all that follows use the equivalent of a speedlock track.
brightcaster
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by brightcaster »

I can't see any boot sector on disk 263 and 265! Only disk 264 has the standard which tells you that it's not a system disk when you accidentally left the floppy inserted during a restart....

Can't see any speedlock track either...

David
dlfrsilver
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by dlfrsilver »

brightcaster wrote: Sun Jun 13, 2021 1:56 pm I can't see any boot sector on disk 263 and 265! Only disk 264 has the standard which tells you that it's not a system disk when you accidentally left the floppy inserted during a restart....

Can't see any speedlock track either...

David
What adds up is that the disks are 360RPM. shame otherwise i could have process them if they were in 300RPM.
brightcaster
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Sublogic Flight Simulator Scenery Disk Format (IBMPC)?

Post by brightcaster »

IF you want to analyze it with the HxC-Tool, here is the trick for converting 360rpm to 300rpm streams:

Go to the menu "Settings/Internal parameters" and change the value for FLUXSTREAM_RPMFIX from "NONE" to "360TO300RPM" and hit "close".

Don't forget to change back to "NONE" if you want to process stream files without conversion again!

David
Post Reply