Dumping and Emulation Issue

All questions regarding the dumping of media go here.
plaxamate

Dumping and Emulation Issue

Post by plaxamate »

OK, so I think I've finally got this down properly. I just dumped my first early game, Ghostbusters, for the PCJr. from original disk. I dumped it and converted to PSI since I see what looks like protection on the last track. The disk is one sided, 180K and boots automatically. It was made for 128K PCJr. I've tried it on PCE, where it gets to the Activision logo and goes no further. Can someone check to make sure that the dump looks ok? It seemed OK when I dumped it. I've put the raw files along with the PSI I created here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/x5njrwcwbj9a ... yLU1a?dl=0

Thanks all for all the help!

Plaxamate
mr.vince

Re: Dumping and Emulation Issue

Post by mr.vince »

I have no experience with PC Jr. and PSI files, but does the format itself support non-standard data, violations of the recording scheme? If yes, then probably the software used for conversion does not present the scheme violations in a way expected by the program.
SomeGuy

Post by SomeGuy »

PCE does not emulate a PCJr or Tandy 1000. Only a PC and XT. I believe this disk would also freeze on a genuine PC or XT because it is expecting a PCJr.

mr.vince, The PSI format used by PCE is a sector format. That means overlapping sectors are separated out in to individual sectors. The number of sectors on a track is not limited by a track length. It is very flexible and it does support some tricks, such as storing more data in a sector than is actually used, allowing a diagnostic read on that sector to return gap data and part of the next sector.

This allows some copy protections to work, but some tricker ones will not. For example if a disk writes to part of an overlapping sector with the intention of clobbering one of the sectors (to indicate the disk is used or such), that will not change the other sector and fail.