Cassablanca Classic floppies

All questions regarding the dumping of media go here.
ZrX
Posts: 481
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by ZrX » Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:29 am

And please upload a dump for those interrested. :)

SimonV
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:32 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by SimonV » Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:47 pm

It worked ! I now have a perfect working copy of the original Casablanca install disk. I think that's more or less the first time someone did it. I think.

The disks are of course still serialized for my machine but that is of course no problem for me.

Here's a link to the image. https://www.dropbox.com/s/8qf8fhbt59hfd ... k.zip?dl=0

User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2101
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by mr.vince » Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:20 pm

SimonV wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:08 am
When I click download on the Kryofluw website of that GUI my virusscanner stops it saying it's malware ...
I am tempted to say that the virus scanner is crapware then. It's been out for quite some time, still some scanners, for no apparent reason, say it's infected when it's clearly not.

SomeGuy
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by SomeGuy » Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:54 pm

I don't know if it would really help, but Avast does have a page for reporting false positives. If enough people reported it, perhaps they would stop?

But then again, most modern virus scanners do seem to only exist for the purpose of scaring users in to paying for various equally useless "premium" services.

User avatar
mr.vince
Posts: 2101
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by mr.vince » Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:07 pm

It's just annoying that it's tagged because the GUI (WildeWutz) uses a publicly available script interpreter. It's like blacklisting all apps written in Visual Studio because Visual Studio (obviously) can be used to write malware.

The problem is with the anti malware producers, their product is flawed. The KryoFlux software is free from malware.

ZrX
Posts: 481
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by ZrX » Mon Feb 12, 2018 5:23 pm

SimonV wrote:
Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:47 pm
It worked ! I now have a perfect working copy of the original Casablanca install disk. I think that's more or less the first time someone did it. I think.

The disks are of course still serialized for my machine but that is of course no problem for me.

Here's a link to the image. https://www.dropbox.com/s/8qf8fhbt59hfd ... k.zip?dl=0
Thanks! Interesting format.

You should go to the UI settings, make a copy of the MFM sector image profile, then untick sector size and change it to 1024, sector count to 10 and target rpm to 300.

That way you should be able to check that the resulting dump comes out good. In the current dump there are few tracks that are seen as being unformatted.

SimonV
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:32 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by SimonV » Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:23 pm

Those unformatted tracks can it be track 82 and 83 while only 81 are formatted ? As said I wrote back the image to an empty floppy and it did seem to work fine.

ZrX
Posts: 481
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by ZrX » Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:39 pm

SimonV wrote:
Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:23 pm
Those unformatted tracks can it be track 82 and 83 while only 81 are formatted ? As said I wrote back the image to an empty floppy and it did seem to work fine.
Tracks 40.1, 42.1, 43.1, 78.1 and 79.1 are reporting unformatted, tho they do have data. Also it might be the drive you're using has slight dirt on the heads.

Moreso, tracks 0-79 have 10x 1024 byte sectors + 1x 512 byte sector, and track 80 has 18x 512 byte sectors.

The 512 byte sector on track 00.0 contains protection and/or licensing related data. Sector 0 on tracks 80.0 and 80.1 contain some numbers that might be mastering batch, or possibly the licensing data for your machine.

ZrX
Posts: 481
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by ZrX » Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:47 pm

Could you post what's in the casablanca/save/HDSernum file on your HDD?

SimonV
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:32 pm

Re: Cassablanca Classic floppies

Post by SimonV » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:23 pm

ZrX wrote:
Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:47 pm
Could you post what's in the casablanca/save/HDSernum file on your HDD?
Is that something I can see from booting the Casablanca or ?

Post Reply